Know your Ministers and their Ministries

Minister Of National Security – Albert Kan Dapaah

Minister Of Finance – Ken Ofori-Atta

Minister Of Trade And Industry – Alan Kyerematen

Minister Of Defence – Hon. Dominic Nitiwul, MP

Minister Of Interior – Hon. Ambrose Dery, MP

Minister Of Foreign Affairs And Regional Integration – Shirley Ayorkor Botchwey

Minister Of Attorney General And Minister For Justice – Godfred Dame

Minister Of Local Government, Decentralization And Rural Development – Hon. Dan Botwe, MP

Minister Of Parliamentary Affairs – Hon. Osei Kyei Mensah Bonsu, MP

Minister Of Communication And Digitization – Hon. Ursula Owusu-Ekuful, MP

Minister Of Food And Agriculture – Dr. Owusu Afriyie Akoto

Minister Of Energy – Hon. Dr. Matthew Opoku Prempeh, MP

Minister Of Education – Hon. Dr. Yaw Osei Adutwum, MP

Minister Of Health – Hon. Kwaku Agyemang Manu, MP

Minister Of Lands And Natural Resources – Hon. Samuel Abdulai Jinapor, MP

Minister Of Roads And Highways – Kwasi Amoako Atta, MP

Minister Of Works And Housing – Hon. Francis Asenso Boakye, MP

Minister Of Transport – Kwaku Ofori Asiamah

Minister Of Fisheries And Aquaculture Development – Hon. Mavis Hawa Koomson, MP

Minister Of Railway Development – Hon. John Peter Amewu, MP

Minister Of Sanitation And Water Resources – Cecilia Abena Dapaah

Minister Of Tourism, Art And Culture – Awal Mohammed

Minister Of Gender, Children And Social Protection – Hon. Sarah Adwoa safo, MP

Minister Of Chieftaincy And Religious Affairs – Hon. Ebenezer Kojo Kum, MP

Minister Of Environment, Science, Technology And Innovation – Hon. Dr. Kwaku Afriyie, MP

Minister Of Employment And Labour Relations – Hon. Ignatius Baffuor Awuah, MP

Minister Of Information – Hon. Kojo Oppong Nkrumah, MP

Minister Of Youth And Sports – Hon. Mustapha Yussif, MP

Minister Of Public Enterprises – Hon. Joseph Cudjoe, MP

Minister Of works and Housing (Minister Of State) – Hon. Freda Prempeh, MP

However, some of the appointees who served as deputy ministers in Akufo-Addo’s first term have had their portfolios elevated into substantive ministers of their respective ministries.

The Deputy Education Minister, Dr Yaw Adutwum, and former Deputy Attorney General, Godfred Dame have both been elevated to serve as substantive ministers.

Ken Ofori-Atta has been maintained at the Finance Ministry alongside Alan Kyeremanten who will keep his position as the Trade Minister.

The MP for Ablekuma West, Ursula Owusu-Ekuful stays at the Communications Ministry while MP for Ofoase-Ayirebi, Kojo Oppong-Nkrumah will continue to serve as Information Minister.

Regional Government

Ahafo Region – George Boakye
Ashanti Region – Simon Osei-Mensah
Bono Region – Justina Owusu-Banahene
Bono East Region – Adu Gyan
Central Region – Justina Marigold Assan
Eastern Region – Seth Acheampong
Greater Accra Region – Hon. Henry Quartey, MP
Northern Region – Shani Alhassan Saibu
North East Region – Yidana Zakaria
Oti Region – Joseph Makubu
Savanna Region – Saeed Muhazu Jibril
Upper East Region – Stepen Yakubu
Upper West Region – Dr. Hafiz Bin Salih
Volta Region – Dr. Archibald Yao Letsa
Western Region – Hon. Kwabena Okyere Darko Mensah, MP
Western North Region – Richard Obeng

Meanwhile, some new faces have been introduced.

The MP for Ahanta West, Kojo Kum has been posted to the Chieftaincy and Religious Affairs Ministry, whilst the Lands and Natural Resources Ministry will be headed by the MP for Damongo, Samuel Abdulai Jinapor.

Further, a total of seven ministries, namely Aviation, Business Development, Inner City and Zongo Development, Monitoring and Evaluation, Planning, Regional Re-organisation and Development, and Special Development Initiatives, have either been absorbed into or aligned with other ministries or government agencies.

The Office of the Senior Minister has, however, been abolished.

According to the President, the special-purpose Ministries have all achieved the purposes for which they were established, hence, the changes.

In all, President Akufo-Addo announced a total of 30 Ministers, and 16 Regional Ministers, bringing the total number of Ministers to 46, eight of which are women – six ministers and two Regional Ministers.

About Post Author