Issuing of NTC E-Learning (Digital Literacy Program) Points To Begin On 22nd April, 2022 – NTC

The National Teaching Council (NTC) wishes to inform all teachers that it will commence the issuing of points for the digital literacy program from Friday 22nd April 2022.

The Council is hereby urging all teachers to  login and complete their courses as soon as possible.

The National Teaching Council (NTC), in partnership with the Ministry of Education (MOE), has authorized a 4-CPD point Digital Literacy Program under GALOP, which will be offered free of charge to teachers across the country.

Pertaining to this new development,  the National Teaching Council has launched and e-learning platform which contains relevant courses that teachers can easily get access to them. The courses are expected to be completed and scored at the end of for Points.

Simple Steps On How To Enroll In a Course On The NTC E-Learning Dashboard


Professional Development (PD) refers to the process by which teachers maintain and enhance their knowledge, skills and experiences gained as they work, beyond any initial training. Furthermore, it is a record of what teachers’ experience, learn and apply.

Consequently, PD activities involve the development of those qualities that are required by teachers for carrying out their professional and technical duties during their teaching career.

PD is an integral component of teacher development. This includes training and education programmes organized within or outside the school environment which NTC approves as being relevant to the teaching profession and meeting prescribed standards.

PD for teachers is intended to:

i. Provide a forum for harnessing ideas and experiences to improve professional competence and commitment.

ii.  Offer intellectual, emotional and social engagements for the teachers to enrich their experiences. To teach for better understanding, teachers must be intellectually engaged in their discipline and work regularly with others in their field.

iii. Maintain high competence that is results from life-long learning.

iv. Demonstrate the social responsiveness by encouraging members of the teaching profession to collaborate as community of experts (Professional Learning Community – PLC), be current, skilful and knowledgeable in their practice.

v. Keep teachers in good standing and be abreast of time.

vi. Maintain professional excellence.

vii. Make available prospect to supplement the initial training of teachers and improve their knowledge, skills, attitude and practices to meet diverse learners’ learning needs. viii. Assist teachers to adapt, contribute, think critically and participate actively in addressing challenges associated with teaching and learning and implement recommendations.

ix. Augment teachers’ commitment to their chosen profession.


The policy emphasizes competency based approach which requires regular In-Service Education and Training (INSET) to develop teachers’ capacities. According to the policy, teachers will be assessed based on defined competencies and evidence of professional proficiency.

It is therefore the responsibility of individual teachers in Ghana to select, undertake and document relevant PD activities they partake in for the purposes of growing through the profession to maintain their professional status.

In addition to the PD programmes attended, teachers are required to upload their portfolio records onto the PD portal for onward assessment by Portfolio Assessors.


The detailed contents and credit points of the respective programmes are determined by NTC based on the needs of the teaching profession over a given period. Basically, the PD programme covers annual conferences of registered teachers, workshops, seminars, and training on curricular knowledge, SBI, CBI and DBI as well as other training programmes approved by the NTC. Teachers must access these programmes at institutions certified by NTC.


PD programmes run for a cycle of three (3) years. This implies that every registered teacher has three (3) years to earn the minimum credit points stipulated for his/her level/rank.

This rule applies to teachers at all levels of the Education system, both public and private sectors including holders of administrative positions. The table below shows the categories of PD programmes that must be attended and the minimum credit points to be earned within a period of three (3) years.


1. School managers and administrators are not beneficiaries of GALOP activities since the focus is on the learner. and administrators are not beneficiaries of GALOP activities since the focus is on the learner.

a. Disagree

b. Agree

2. Professional development is a requirement for teachers’ career growth

a. True
b. False

3. GALOP has no relevance with teacher professional development.

a. Agree

b. Disagree

4. Professional Learning Communities (PLCs) is a means of accessing professional development rather than professional development itself.

a. True
b. False

5. The PD framework categorizes trainings as;

a.Mandatory, Supply driven and Demand driven

b. Mandatory, Rank based and Recommended

c. Mandatory, Rank based and Assisted

d. Mandatory, Rank based and Demand driven